Antitrust Symposium

The George Mason Law Review, in partnership with the Law and Economics Center, proudly presents:

The 18th Annual Antitrust Symposium

Perspectives on Global Competition Law

Thursday, February 19, 2015



Symposium Sneak Peek

In anticipation of our 18th Annual Antitrust Symposium entitled Perspectives on Global Competition Law, the George Mason Law Review is proud to announce a special early online release of one of the forthcoming articles in our 2015 Antitrust Symposium Issue. The article is co-authored by Yong Huang, Elizabeth Xiao-Ru Wang, and Roger Xin Zhang, and discusses the essential facilities doctrine and its use in Chinese Anti-Monopoly Law. Elizabeth Xiao-Ru Wang will also be a panelist at our global antitrust symposium. Read the article here!


Title Sponsor



NERA_logo_2015_Symposiums Orrick


8:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.: Registration and Breakfast

8:30 a.m. – 8:35 a.m.: Welcome and Introduction

8:35 a.m. – 9:30 a.m:  Opening Keynote: Conversation with Corporate Counsel
Watch here
Commentator: Terry Calvani, Of Counsel, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP
                Aimee Imundo, Senior Counsel, Competition Law and Compliance, General Electric Company
                David T. Blonder, Director, Legal Counsel, Regulatory and Privacy, Blackberry
                Jaffer Abbasi, Compliance Counsel (Competition Laws), Chevron Corporation

9:45 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.:  Panel One: Class Actions and Private Actions
Watch here
Moderator: Tom Ensign, Partner, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP
                James Kress, Partner, Baker Botts L.L.P.
                Damien Geradin, Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law
                Michelle M. Burtis, Vice President, Charles River Associates
                Christine Siegwarth Meyer, Senior Vice President, NERA Economic Consulting
                Reena A. Gambhir, Partner, Hausfeld Global Litigation Solutions

11:15 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.:  Panel Two: Economics and Economic Evidence Across Regimes
Watch here
Moderator: Bruce Kobayashi, Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law
                Elizabeth Wang, Principal, Charles River Associates
                H. Stephen Harris, Jr., Partner, Winston Strawn
                Jorge Padilla, Senior Managing Director and Head of Compass Lexecon Europe
                Subramaniam Ramanarayanan, Senior Consultant, NERA Economic Consulting

12:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.: Lunch and Lunch Keynote
Watch here
Speaker: Randolph W. Tritell, Director, Office of International Affairs, Federal Trade Commission

2:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.: Panel Three: Non-competition Goals in Global Antitrust
Watch here
Moderator: Timothy J. Muris, Of Counsel, Kirkland & Ellis LLP;
                 George Mason University Foundation Professor, George Mason University School of Law
                James F. Rill, Senior Counsel, Baker Botts L.L.P.
                William E. Kovacic, Global Competition Professor of Law and Policy; Professor of Law;
                 Director, Competition Law Center, The George Washington University Law School
                D. Daniel Sokol, Professor, Levin College of Law University of Florida
                John “Jay” Jurata, Partner, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP

3:30 p.m. – 4:45 p.m.: Panel Four: Remedies and Commitments Across Regimes
Watch here
Moderator: Judge Douglas H. Ginsburg,
                Senior Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit;
                 Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law
                The Honorable Joshua D. Wright, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission
                George S. Cary, Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
                Bruce McCulloch, Partner, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP
                Abbott (Tad) B. Lipsky, Jr., Partner, Latham & Watkins LLP

4:45 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.: Closing Remarks

5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.: Cocktail Reception


For more information please contact

Antitrust Symposiums: 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014